Cultivating a Bountiful Crop of Rest in Nova Scotia

Rest.

Teachers need rest.

Take rest; a field that has rested gives a bountiful crop. – Ovid

We need rest in order to maintain our levels of compassion and empathy towards our students. We need rest in order to remain creative because creativity profoundly serves our lesson plans. We need rest to stay open to the change that learning requires.

This is how I’m taking a rest right now.

Home Cooking

Rapûre (rappie pie in English) is the traditional meal for Acadians from Nova Scotia. Click on the link to find the recipe for Clare‘s best selling rappie pie, Evelina’s Rapûre.

Some of you may not know this, but I’m of Acadian descent. This means I was raised francophone and my second language should be English. I, however, can’t see an identifying division between my two languages. My intention is to write a blog post of how this has affected me as an English teacher. Stay tuned for that processing.

Nova Scotia’s Beauty

un petit bergot (a periwinkle snail)

Lower Saulnierville Beach (the beach facing my homestead)

Mavillette Beach

Family & Friends

PS. Since I’m on Nova Scotia time now, this could mean a few posting delays. I plan to get back to my regimented, weekly, reflective postings once I get back to teaching in Daegu in September. I apologize for any disappointment this may cause, but I also ask you to celebrate the rest teachers deserve.

8 comments

  1. Wow! The snail is such a hottie … Can’t take my eyes off it. I envy your home’s position, or should I say location. That’s one of the dreams I have – to have a house near the seashore or river.

    1. Thank you so much! I had a great time photographing him. I just got a ne camera (lumix LX5) and I love the way my pictures, especially close-ups are coming out. I really miss the ocean. I usually live in South Korea between mountains, and luckily I can visit my hometown in NS once a year. Each time I come I am taken aback by the freshness of the ocean. Haha… I think I will go there right now! Thank you for celebrating the ocean with me.

  2. Jos, I love your blog because I can semi-experience what you are experiencing! The snail photo is breathtaking and I would like to enlarge it and put it on my wall as a reminder of slow and steady wins the race! So nice to see Byong Chan in the pictures – that he can experience your Acadian roots and you his Korean roots is so intimate and amazing! I am starting a new blog TONIGHT called “Thanks for the Blues” – a gratitude blog that is part of my efforts towards ongoing mental health. Once I’ve created it I’ll send you the link and I’d love it if you’d link to it through your amazing blog here.
    Peace and Love!
    Hails

  3. Thank you Hailey! I give you permission to blow it up for sure! It was such a fun picture to take.

    It is great fun to have Byongchan with me here. It’s such a unique experience to see my culture through his eyes. Much much learning.

    Can’t wait to experience your blog!
    LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    1. Thank you very much! It was so much fun to take this picture. It was one of the first close ups I took with my new camera. I love close up shots.

Leave a comment